7 things I miss about living in a house…

Ok, so I’m getting worn out.  We’ve moved around A LOT.  And I’m a home body.  So I’m getting tired of moving.  That being said, I wouldn’t trade this for anything.  But there are some things I miss about living in a house.  So in no exceptional order, here are 7 things I miss about living in a house.

#1. Doors.  Ok, so we do have doors.  We have one to go outside and on the bathroom.  But not on the bedrooms.  This is a good thing, I suppose, in a way.  Fingers don’t get pinched in them.  Cats don’t get locked in rooms accidentally.  They don’t get slammed when children get mad.  But, they’re great for blocking out the sound of kids fighting in the morning when we’re (ok, I am) not ready to be awake yet.  And when Handsome Hubby or I or both need some alone time.

2014-10-16 19.08.19 #2. A backyard.  I miss being able to send the kids outside to play and not worry about where they are or what they might be getting into.  Most of the time Handsome Hubby is outside working, so most of the time this isn’t such a big deal.  But sometimes, I miss that.

#3. A normal sized refrigerator.  I am so blessed to even have a refrigerator.  But it would be nice to be able to stock up on cold item stuff and have it last longer than 3 days.

#4.  Being able to stock up on food.  I suppose I do this in a way, but not to the extent I have in the past.  Maybe it’s laziness, but I like to stock up on stuff so I don’t have to go grocery shopping every week.  Also, I have to think about weight.  Our car can only handle pulling so much weight.  Every can adds to that.

2013-02-14 17.54.35 #5.  Healthy meals.  There are so many reasons for this one.  We have a small amount of space in the refrigerator, a small amount of space in our kitchen, and little time.  So, I give in and we have hamburger helper and the like, a lot.  No offense if this is your normal meal.  I love hamburger helpers.  I just don’t like the MSG, high fructose corn syrup and other junk they put in it.  (It sure tastes good though.)  When we are traveling, I crave vegetables.  Yes, we could bring a small cooler of cheese sticks, yogurt, cut fresh veggies, and the like.  In fact, I have.  But I also forget to put said healthy snacks back in the refrigerator and then they rot.  So… Cheese sticks & yogurt and the like are in the refrigerator and when we remember that they’re there while we’re traveling, we try to take advantage of them.

6. My deep freezer.  Normally, I love to make a double or triple batch of something we love and freeze the leftovers.  I also like to make cookie dough, portion it out, freeze it and then bag it out.  Then when I want a cookie (ahem-half dozen) as a midnight snack, I can just take it out and bake it.  By making double or triple batches and freezing them, I can take them out later when I’m not in the mood to cook and still have a great meal.  But alas, no deep freezer, so no pre-made meals.

7. A garden.  Right now, I have a purple basil that somehow survived the winter and a giant cabbage that the school gave Princess before we left Georgia and that will never be huge.  I long to be able to plant tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, and green beans again.  I’d love to start an herb garden.  I want to grow strawberries again.  Until then, I’ll do what I can.

May God bless your socks off as He has mine!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

