Hello again!

Long time, no hear from, Eh?

I found my camera again!

Whoohoo!

We’ve been planning our vacation to the East Coast and so I’ve been busy!

But before I talk about that, I’m going to share what I made for what comes first.

The Civil War Reenactment!

Around here, it’s April 27th to the 29th in Keokuk, Ia

It’s always a lot of fun.

I love to see the ladies (and gentlemen) dressed in the 1860’s fashion and hear the cannon’s boom.  It’s also fun to hear about the Battle of Pea Ridge that took place not too far from Keokuk during the Civil War.  (Correct me if I have the wrong battle, for those that know.)

So…

I am blessed.

I just have to say that.

I got to attend the ball last year for the first time (sort of a last minute, happen to have an extra dress thing) with friends so close, they’re no longer friends.  They’re family.

I had sooo much fun!

See this dress?

Isn’t it gorgeous?!

(Thanks Lauren for letting me wear it!)

Yeah, it doesn’t fit this year…

I feel for the women in the 1800’s that had to work with fabric that didn’t stretch.  I guess I’m too used the t-shirts I wear, almost every single day.

But.  Like I said, I’m blessed.

Way blessed.

Like knock my socks off blessed.

When I tried it on the very beginning of this month and it no longer fit (amazing what 5 pounds will do to a person) they simply suggested that we make a new one.

We as in, they.

They are the experts.

All those dresses the ladies are wearing?

They made them.  (Minus the pink one I’m wearing.  But they did alter that one a bit.)

Awesome, aren’t they?

This is Hannah in the “everyday” dress I made for her.

While the dress isn’t perfect, it’s pretty nice.

If I do say so myself.

And I do.

I can’t wait for her to wear this at the reenactment!

Hannah will also be joining us at the Civil War Ball.

She received a southern belle costume last year for her birthday and I immediately thought of the Civil War Ball.  So I haven’t let her wear the costume much.  She is so excited to be able to wear it at the ball like one of those Disney princess’!

Well, I have more posts to write, but not today.

May God bless your socks off!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

