Things We Do to Save Money

In these current times, with just about everything rising in price except our paychecks, I think everyone is trying their best to save money.  Today at MoPs, several ladies talked about how they save money on the things they buy and how they buy it.  And it got me thinking about how I  save money for our family.  Their stories were inspiring and I learned a lot and intend on utilizing some of their suggestions.

Here are some things we’re doing to save money.

1. Lower the temperture in your home or raise it depending on the time of year.  Even a degree or two will save you money on your bill.

2. Use florescent light bulbs.  Yes, they are more expensive short term, but they do save you money in the long run.  If you want to be nice to your wallet, replace them as your current ones burn out.

3. Teach your kids to shut the lights off when they leave their room, bathroom, etc..  We’re still working on this one.

4. Menu Plan.  If you plan ahead you have the time to utilize your crock pot.  So you don’t need to stop for fast food or make an emergency run to get something you need for dinner.

5. Use only 1tsp of detergent in your dishwasher along with jet dry (or the like).  This not only saves you money on detergent, it saves you from having to get a new dishwasher every 5 years.  We’ve been doing this for the past few months and I haven’t noticed a change at all  in how clean our dishes are.

6. Skip the heat drying.  Even if you don’t catch when your dishwasher is “done”.  It will still dry in the machine.  (Trust me, on this one.  I am the ever procrastinator when it comes to dishes.)  Of course, if water spots are the bane of your existance, simply grab a dish/hand towel, dry the dishes and put them away.  Not only do you save money, but your dishes are done faster too!

7. Make your own.  This is probably where I’ll lose a lot of people and that’s okay.  I make my own laundry soap.  It’s really easy, eco friendly, and from products that really aren’t hard to find (Washing Soda, Borax & Felts Neptha Soap).  As soon as I’m out of my current dishwasher soap, I’m planning on making that too (Washing Soda & Borax).  I do make bread on occasion (Most of the time, I use my bread machine to make the dough and let it rise the first time and then pull it out and bake it in the oven.) and regularly make my own chicken broth.  I make chicken broth after we’ve had a whole chicken for supper.  I simply save whats left along with the bones, then throw them, an onion, a couple of carrots and celery sticks into a large pot, fill it with water and let it boil for about a half hour.

8. Replace cleaners & paper towels.  I use vinegar water to clean with (most of the time) as well as baking soda.  Bleach water has been a long time disinfectent as far as countertops & so on go (though make sure to try a small area first before going gun ho, just in case).  Washrags are by far cheaper than paper towels and better for the envirnment, just make sure to get them back to the kitchen or wherever you keep them instead of sitting in a pile or in a laundry basket somewhere like mine tend to do.

9. Have an errand day or do an errand based on where you’re already going to be.  This saves on gas and time, something that we never seem to have enough of. (The time, not the gas)

10. Never pay full price.  Buy it on sale.  If it never goes on sale, switch brands.  Shop at thrift stores, garage sales and clearence racks.  Use coupons for items you already use.  This is something I’m not very good at, but I’m learning.

There are so many more ways to save money.  These are just a few.

How do you save money?

May God bless your socks off!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

