Chef Tim: Cranberry Carmel Apple Oatmeal Cookies

Kind of a mouthful, I know.  And believe me, I had a mouth full!

Tim has really begun to enjoy cooking lately.  And as he understands the concepts behind cooking, he’s a whole lot better at it.

I’m the cook.

Tim is the chef

I follow recipes.

Tim makes up his own.

Tim’s goal today was to make a very yummy, yet low calorie cookie.  He said he combined a couple recipes that he found.  (Something I’m not very good at.  At least, and have it still taste good.)

Cranberry Carmel Apple Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour

1 1/2 cups old fashioned oatmeal

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 c margarine

1/4 c applesauce

1/4 c egg substitute (or 1 egg)

1 whole apple, chopped very fine (I suppose we could have shredded it too, come to think of it.  We left the skin on)

3/4 dried cranberries

8 carmels, chopped into tiny pieces (I cut them fourths and then cut each fourth into fours.)

 

Directions:

Mix the flour, oatmal, baking powder, baking soda, and both sugars together.

Add the rest of the ingredients.

Drop by heaping tablespoons on foil or parchment paper lined cookie sheets.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 8 to 12 minutes.  This really varies on the size of the cookies and your oven.

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

 

Nutrition:  Calories 91; Total fat 1g; Sat. fat 0.3g; Cholesterol 0 mg; Sodium 64.4mg; Carbs 19.6g; Fiber 0.8g; Sugar 12.4g; Protein 1.3g

 

 

What we liked:

Tim: Tim liked the sweet/tangy nature of it and especially a couple we forgot about in the oven and got a little over done, so they were a bit crunchy.  (Not burned, just overdone)

Rachel: I loved that they were moist and almost cake like.  I was rather impressed with this recipe.  They were quite addicting.  But then, I think I say that about anything sweet.

 

What we would have done different:

Tim: I would have upped the eggs to 1/2 cup (2 eggs), skipped the carmels, lowered the margarine to 3T and upped the applesauce to 1/4 plus 1Tbsp.

Rachel: I agree that you really can’t taste the carmel much.  I tried sticking half a carmel in the middle of a cookie, but it really didn’t turn out the greatest.  I think I would have omitted the carmels as well, but left everything else alone.  I think I’ll try drizzling carmel ice cream topping on top instead before baking and see how that turns out.

If anybody tries these with or without the changes, let us know what you think.

May God bless your socks off!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

