Valentine’s Sleep-over Party

Last night was filled with giggles and I loved it!

Since Valentines Day is on Monday and Hannah has been wanting to invite her friends over, I decided to combine the two and give some of my friends a night off.  Thus the Valentine’s Sleep-over Party was born.

We started the evening by making pizzas, heart shaped, of course.

Making Pizza 001

Making Pizzas 002

Making Pizzas 003


Making Pizzas 004

While we waited for the pizzas to cook, we had heart salad.

“Dessert first?!?” Is what I heard.

“No, no, this is a salad, really.”

“It’s jello!”

“Yup, it’s a jello salad.”

“Jello… salad??”

I’m not sure they got it, but, they were happy, so I guess that’s all that matters.

And the finished product.  This one was Tim’s.  I kept forgetting to get a picture of the others, and his was the last one out.  The kids weren’t quite this big.

After making pizzas, they played a little and then we made Valentine pots.  (There’s a picture later in this post, I forgot to get a picture of them making them, so all you get is the finished product.)  They can be used for holding candy, pencils, flowers, whatever you’d like.  Basically, you paint a terra cotta pot.  Then rip up pieces of tissue paper and glue them to the pot using a paint brush. Really simple, really messy, but really fun to make.

After they were done with the pots, they all got their pj’s on and had a barbiethon.  Then, we painted some toes, read a chapter in Farmer Boy by Laura Ingells Wilder (Sorry bout the spelling), and prayed.  Then it was a marathon of potty breaks and last drinks.  Finally the lights were off and giggles drifted into our bedroom.  It was after 10p when we started cracking down on them to go to sleep.  Although I’m not sure when exactly they went to sleep, it did get quieter.  I think I’m about as mean as a marshmello… Hopefully their parents won’t kill me later today.

I started hearing more giggles and talking a little after 7a this morning.  They even beat Caleb up, which to me, is a feat in and of itself.  So, it was on to breakfast

We had Carmel Apple Sticky Buns…

…heart shaped, of course…

and Fruit Kabobs…

Making cards 001Then we made flower cards.

The finished products:

Overall I think they had fun.

The girls

And just because… I have a few more pictures….

All the girlsAll the girls!

This picture was taken a couple weeks ago but I love his hair in this picture and he was sooo good last night and this morning.  Although, I did find out we have to work on his manners, he loved being the clown for the girls and making them laugh and call him silly.

And last, but not least, Ethan.  Who was also very good last night.  He sat in his chair for a lot longer than normal, as we made the pizzas and the crafts.  He seemed to know that last night was about the girls and having fun and not about him.  It was very nice.

Both boys did a great job.

I’m proud of all the kids that were here last night.  They all did great!

May God bless your socks off as he has me!

Rachel

One Response to Valentine’s Sleep-over Party

  1. Kristin says:

    Wow, you are a braaaave woman. It looks like that will be a night the girls will remember forever! So sweet

Leave a Reply

