A New Year

Okay, so I told myself I would update my blog more frequently back in October… Yeah, uh-huh.  Best intentions… I know.

I have been asked several times to update it.  I guess 3rd time’s a charm (Thanks, Dad!)  🙂

 

So, I’m going to have pictures of the things we’ve been doing in the months since our last post.  (At least the ones I can find at this moment.  🙂

First, is the cakes I made for Hannah and Caleb.  I am rather proud of them as they came out great.  When we celebrated Caleb’s birthday with Tim’s family in October, I made a lego cake.

Caleb to a tee 2010

(I thought this picture portrayed Caleb’s personality to a T.)

November is a popular month on Tim side of the family as there are 4 birthdays that we celebrate regularly, sometimes 5.  So, I made the girls doll cakes.  They were fun to make although I didn’t make them the traditional way, so it was a little harder.  I didn’t take the legs off the doll, so there are feet poking through the cake.

 

Now on to December!

On Christmas Eve, Tim took the kids sledding.  I didn’t really want to take Ethan out in the cold, so I didn’t get any pictures of them actually sledding, but I did get a before shot.

The kids also got to play with Daddy’s new toys.  Bucky Balls.  (Magnet balls)

Before bed we opened one gift.  This is a tradition we started when Hannah was a baby.  The kids get to open new pajamas and then they get to put them on.  This lets them open a gift a little “early” and makes it so that they have nice new pajamas for pictures the following morning.

As you can see, Ethan enjoyed the wrapping paper… er, I mean unwrapping the present.  Nah, it was the wrapping paper he enjoyed most.  (By the way, his shirt says, “All Mommy wants for Christmas is a Silent Night.”  (Thanks Mom A) and no, I didn’t get that for Christmas, but almost.)

That being said, he loved the fact that he could play with his feet!

I absolutely love, love, love this picture!  I took it to see if this pose would work for our family picture.

I love it!

Then on Christmas morning we sang “Happy Birthday” to Jesus and had cake (Cinnamon Roll Bread).  Then we do mittens instead of stockings, so we did that next.

Another Christmas tradition that we started when Caleb was born was Christmas crackers.  I just think they’re fun.

We usually open them at dinner, but I had extra, so Tim got some in his mitten.  The kids loved helping him open them.  After we finished with our mittens, we proceeded to go to Stephen’s for breakfast.  We visited my grandparents and gave them their gifts and then went to Mom’s for lunch.  We finally finished the day with supper at our house and then our gifts.  It was a busy day.

God blessed us immensely during 2010.  Yes, there were disappointments and we will always miss Tim’s dad, but God continues to bless us.  Tim got a different job within Rockwell that he enjoys and that will allow him to travel every so often.  Rachel is continuing too learn off of the older wiser women at church.  Hannah is enjoying school and continues to “grow in grace and beauty” to quote Sleeping Beauty.  Caleb keeps us on our toes and makes us laugh.  Ethan was born because God protected him and is growing like a weed; sitting up, eating soft food (forget that baby food stuff, yuck, Mom!).  He rolls and moves around in a circle on his tummy and can now pick up cheerios all by himself!  🙂

Yes, God has indeed blessed us.  I pray that He blesses your socks off too!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

