White Chicken Chili

Tonight we had chili for supper.  While I love the red chili most people think of when you say, “I had chili tonight”.  I try not to have it too often as tomatoes is what sets Tim’s heartburn off.  He loves it and will eat it anyway, but I try not to infuriate it.  I love White Chili, and since I happened to have 3 c of diced chicken and chicken broth in the freezer already, this was a snap to make!

Ingredients:

1Tbsp oil

1 medium onion, diced

4 cloves garlic, mined

3 c chicken broth

2 (15oz) cans white northernbeans

1 (15oz) can garbanzo beans

3 c cooked, diced chicken

1 (4oz) diced green chilis (I put only half the can in)

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (I don’t put this in, as half of us like hot stuff and the other doesn’t)

2tsp cumin

1tsp oregano

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (I don’t put this in, as half of us like hot stuff and the other doesn’t)

1 c shredded cheese (I used Monterey Jack cheese) (Optional)

4 sliced green onions (Optional) (I didn’t have any of this)

Directions:

Heat oil over medium heat in a dutch oven or heavy saucepan.  Add onion and garlic.  Cook 2 – 3 minutes.  Process 1 c chicken broth and garbanzo beans in food processor or blender until smooth.  Add to onion and garlic mixture.  Stir in remaining ingredients.  Bring to a boil, then turn heat down to medium-low.  Simmer 20 – 30 minutes.

Garnish with cheese and green onions and serve with cornbread.

Serves 8

May God bless your socks off!

Rachel

One Response to White Chicken Chili

  1. Jenny says:

    Hey Rachel,
    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog lately. Thanks for sharing!!

    Jenny White

Leave a Reply

