What’s in a name?

If you noticed, I changed the name of our blog to “Joy in Training”.  I’m not sure as yet, if this is what it will continue to be, but for now, it’s what it will stay.

Joy, as a verb, is defined as : to experience great pleasure or delight.  I think it is possible to expierence pain and joy at the same time.  In that, life happens and is often painful, but I also believe that life is what you make it out to be.  If you think that life sucks, than it will.  Even if you are blessed beyond measure.  Right now we are experiencing, a life coming to an end, a job that is stressful right now and other mishaps.  Yet, in the pain and stress, we try to laugh.

Kids are so good about keeping things from getting too dark and dreary.  Some days I feel down and out and Caleb will run to me and smack into my legs wrapping his arms tight around me telling me that he loves me or Hannah will come over and kiss my cheek.  They remind me that there is always hope, always something to look forward to.

This morning, we were talking about birthdays and how old people are and Hannah said, “On my birthday, I will turn 5.  And then, I will turn 6!”  Her birthday isn’t until November.  I told her she had to turn 5 first.

As we get older, we stop looking forward to getting older.  We tend to stop looking forward to everything and instead, look back.  Wishing we could re-live that moment again.  My prayer is that, while I do want to look forward to vacations, 1st days of school, Ethan crawling and so forth, that I don’t forget to live in the now, embracing in the joy God has placed in front of me, now.

So, I am ever in training to learn how to live a joy filled life, even amongst the sorrows.

May God bless your socks off!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

