What’s for dinner? (July 19 – 25)

Have you ever looked at the clock to find that it’s already 6pm and realized “That’s why I’m so hungry and the kids are cranky!”  Simple fix: menu plan.  It saves you time & money and gets real nutrients into you and your kids.

There are several ways to do it.  Right now the salad as a meal, stir-fries, your grill and your crock-pot is definitely your best tools.  You can get everything together the night before for a salad as a meal and throw it together 5 minutes before you serve.  I like to get everything in the crock-pot insert the night before and leave it in the fridge overnight, so all I have to do is put in the crock-pot and crank it on the next morning (especially if it’s going to be a busy morning).  The longest part of a stir-fry is cutting up the veggies and if you have a gas grill, your meal can be done super fast (we have a charcoal grill so it takes a while for the charcoal to heat up).

I know it takes a little planning, but it is worth it.  Though I have days when I look at what I’m supposed to make and dig in my freezer for a meal I had doubled and frozen instead (also worth doing).  It also helps to look around at what other people are planning and eating.  I’ve been reading two different blogs for a couple months now and they’ve inspired me to be a lot better about it.

If you’d like a little inspiration check out what I have below or visit: http://thehappyhousewife.com/ or http://joyinmykitchen.blogspot.com/  Both are great and have lots of pictures, which is the reason why I tend to post so many pictures.  I always knew I was a visual person, but I guess I didn’t realize just how much I was until I started checking out people’s blogs.  I’d include pictures of the meals, but I haven’t got any yet.  😦

Monday, July 19, 2010 (Stephen’s 27th Birthday)

Breakfast: Dutch Babies with Buttered Apples

Lunch: HBT (hamberger, baked beans & tomatoes), carrot sticks, pears

Supper: Chicken fajitas & Birthday cake!

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Breakfast: Kid’s choice

Lunch: Pbj, Carrot/celery sticks, apple slices

Supper: Leftovers

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Breakfast: Cinnamon Rolls (recipe thanks to Happy Housewife http://thehappyhousewife.com/easy-no-rise-cinnamon-rolls/)

Lunch: Tuna boats, peaches

Supper: Pasta Di Vinci, salad, rolls, fresh peach pie

Thursday, July 22, 2010

Breakfast: Potato Pepper Frittata

Lunch: Caleb’s choice

Supper: Tuna noodle Casserole

Friday, July 23, 2010

Breakfast: Cereal or Instant Oatmeal

Lunch: Hannah’s Choice

Supper: Hotdogs, chips, carrot/celery sticks, peaches, s’mores

Saturday, July 24, 2010

Breakfast: Leftover cinnamon rolls, apples, oj

Lunch: Pbj, leftover carrot/celery sticks, leftover apples/peaches

Supper: Leftovers

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Breakfast: Zucchini Muffins, fresh fruit

Lunch: (Potluck) Carmel Apple Cake & Cantaloupe or Watermellon

Supper: Sweet and Sour Meatloaf, green bean casserole, peaches

May God bless your socks off!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

