Butterflies

Last year, during our school year, we studied butterflies.  Since we are repeating what we did last year, we will study them again.  The curriculum we’re doing suggests sending for caterpillars and watching them go from caterpillar to chrysalis to butterfly.  As we studied butterflies in March of this year and will probably study them again in March of this next year, I didn’t think it would be good to send the butterflies out in 50 – 60 degree weather when we were done with them and I wasn’t going to try and keep them inside long.

So… I sent for them a about a month or so ago.  We were all excited when they came a couple weeks ago.  We kept them on the table out of the sun, like it said to do.  Perhaps some would get queezy watching caterpillars while eating dinner, but it was a great topic for discussion.  (Sorry no pictures of the catepillars, I didn’t think of taking pictures until they were butterflies.)

The time went so fast.  One night I looked and they were still catepillars and the next morning, they were in their chrysalis.  All in all 5 out of 6 made it to make chrysalis’s.  I thought it was duely interesting and gross that the remaining one ended up in several pieces.  (Did the other caterpillars eat him?  Did he explode?)

The same thing happened when they emerged.  We came back home from visiting relatives and I was relieved they hadn’t emerged yet, although I did put cut flowers in the butterfly habitat just in case.  That next morning, I looked and still nothing.  Not more than 15 minutes later, Tim announced that we had a butterfly!  Two hours later all the remaining butterflies had emerged!  Watching butterflies during dinner is not nearly as gross.  The kids watched them every chance the could get that day.

The next day we set them free before going off to a movie.  I don’t know exactly what I was expecting, probably for all the butterflies to burst out of the opening, pushing and shoving.  However that’s not what happened.  They didn’t seem interested at all in leaving.  So leaving the “door” open, we left.  Several hours later when we returned home, I expected them all to be gone.  But when I looked into the habitat, one remained.  The others had gotten the courage and stepped out into the big world flying with wings God had given them.  But that last one stayed behind, trapped by fear alone.

It got me thinking.  How many times am I trapped, missing out on oppertunities  God has placed in my path, simply because I’m too scared to fly out into the unknown.  Too scared to trust God.  Because that’s really what it comes down to… trust.  If I don’t trust you, I’m not going to let you help me.  You wouldn’t let just anyone watch your sleeping child in your car while you ran in to the store for a gallon of milk.  Yet, really, how much more do we trust people in general, who will break their promises, than the Creator of the universe,  who never will.

Hmmm… something to think about.

God bless your socks off!

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

